Addiction Recovery Program

Obviously the Church produces some fantastic material that is used as part of the regular Church curriculum. However, they also have a lot of “other” material that is equally impressive, that many members might not know about. Obviously the Church does a great job on their web sites. I’ve also enjoyed the Institute manuals. But one of the resources I am most impressed with is the Addiction Recovery Program that is offered by LDS Family Services.


First of all, let me say that I am not a therapist of any kind. I haven’t run the course myself. What I have done, is to use it myself. Not because I have any substance abuse problems, but because I wanted to know how it could be used with some of the members of my ward.

It is phenomenal. There are 12 steps that are adapted from the Alcoholics Anonymous 12 steps (credit is given at the front of the booklet), but they are entirely Church principle focused. There are quotes from general authorities, scriptures, and lots of questions to ask yourself. I’ve been using this as my daily scripture study recently, and I’m quite enjoying it.
The book/program are introduced in this way:

Whether you yourself struggle with addiction or associate with someone who does, this guide can be a blessing in your life. The Twelve Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous have been adapted into a framework of the doctrines, principles, and beliefs of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. They are presented in this guide as key principles at the beginning of each section. This guide will help you learn how to apply these key principles; they can change your life…

Church leaders and counseling professionals have also been involved in writing and developing this guide. The combined wisdom and experience of these many authors stands as yet another witness of the reality of the Atonement of Jesus Christ and the possibility of recovery from addiction.

It mentions that there are recovery support groups and the booklet is meant to be used by those attending the groups, but it can be used by those who are not near a support group, or who want to work on things on their own or with their bishop.

The 12 steps/principles that are taught are:

  1. Honesty
  2. Hope
  3. Trust in God
  4. Truth
  5. Confession
  6. Change of Heart
  7. Humility
  8. Seeking Forgiveness
  9. Restitution and Reconciliation
  10. Daily Accountability
  11. Personal Revelation
  12. Service

You can download a PDF of the book on the Provident Living web site, or you can order it from the Distribution Centre.

Published by Graham

Former YM President, EQ President, Bishop, and Stake Institute Teacher. Now back to being the YM President. Happily married to Lisa, with 3 beautiful children.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply to Teri Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: